Categories
案例分析

房东租客租金纠纷

在过去的几周,我们律所收到了大量留学生租金纠纷,尤其是中国留学生的房租纠纷。

很多租金的纠纷理由都是这次全球疫情,留学生们无法按时来到英国,从而不能够按约定时间入住英国宿舍/公寓等。

我们处理的案子里,有个人的也有留学生集体诉讼的。这其中包含多达七十多名留学生集体诉讼其英国公寓的案子,诉讼金额高达100万英镑。

一些客户依旧在英国,但是绝大多数留学生已经返回中国。

我们秉承客户第一的原则,尽我们最大的努力,争取在有效的时间里,替留学生们讨要会房租和押金,把损失降至最低。

我们所的中文律师Charis Wong, 非常擅长处理房东房客纠纷法律,她精通普通话和广东话。她已经为众多留学生讨回押金,解决纠纷。

Charis Wong, 中文律师,擅长民事/家庭法。精通英语,普通话和广东话。邮箱:cw@clsolicitors.co.uk 微信:Clsolicitors-uk

Categories
案例分析

如何挽回海外投资“可疑投资项目”

上个月,英国律师管理局 (SRA) 发布了一篇文章,针对于律师涉嫌 “可疑投资项目”, 处罚的结果相当严厉:

  • 律师管理局当即终止了涉案的七家律所,意味着这些律所将立马关门
  • 针对于涉案处罚的律师,在律师紀律审裁处已经涉及了二十个案子在手。

律师错在了哪里?

首先来说,律师允许了客户进行房产的投资, 但这些不是真正的投资,实际上是投资诈骗。

通常,这类型的房产投资项目往往都没有盖好。比如说,买家被要求投资酒店的一个房间,或者是居住公寓/房子。被要求付一笔大的定金(往往是高达50%的定金而不是通常的10%的定金)。

投资者被允诺投资的安全性,比如说会有保险政策去确保投资后最低的房租收入,或者是,投资人者可以选择任何时间改变心意,让担保者把房产买回。他们会告诉投资者这是一个很稳的投资项目,不会出一点差错。

房产买卖律所会被引荐进来做所有房产买卖的合同、文书工作。他们把这些当作最普通的房屋买卖,而没有做双关的的尽职调查。他们并没有去调查保险政策是不是真实的,或者担保者有没有能力去偿还所承诺的。房产律所通常用最基本的房屋买卖合同,而不是房产发展合同。这里的付款方式不是分期而是一把打过来。没有任何的第三方房屋测量师定期检查, 也没有进行独立估值等,他们这是”盖个章”般的处理例行公事,收取费用,买卖结束,继续接下一个买卖的案子。

通常一个小小的房产买卖律所,会处理很多这种房产买卖,比如在同一个时间处理50个客户的买卖。这就促使了律师在某种程度非常仓促的处理这些案子。因为如果他们提出异议或者反对项目,他们会错过赚他们的律师费。

没过多久,投资者就会发现他们的钱全部丢了。大概是意识到,他们投资的项目永远都是不可能完成的,即使已经放了定金,但是开发商申请破产了。或者是酒店已经在建,在运营,但是开放商会说因为某些原因,没有钱付给投资者。开发商会说因为利润低没赚钱,但是却让这些投资者继续付租金和物业服务费给他们。

最糟糕的结果是房产买卖律师继续尝试着解决问题,根本没有意识到是律师本身造就了客户现在的结局。比如说,他们会继续和开发商们协商,臆想着开发商会立马把项目给完成了,投资者的钱也会立马拿回来。

投资人要怎么办呢?

Clarendon Law Solicitors 律所目前代表很多客户进行商业法律诉讼,争取在最短的时间内,以最大能力的保护他们的权益,要回投资款和附带的律师费等。

每个客户的投资诉讼纠纷都有些许的不同,我们会从多方角度考虑。通常情况来说,我们首要的目标是开发商自身和经手他们房产投资买卖的律师。

为什么投资人需要立马行动?

许多的案子倾向于变成针对于涉案专业律师的“专业疏忽纠纷”。好的消息是每个律师的专业保险起码在£2,000,000. 就职于有限公司的律师保险高达£3,000,000.

不好的消息是保险公司有权“合计”相似的案子。也就是说如果是大数目的投资客户一起诉讼同一个律所,保险公司会支付头几个诉讼他们的,总支付限额是£2,000,000 (或£3,000,000), 但是他们没有义务去支付接下来其他类似客户们,也就是说先到先得。

实际上来说,这里就引发了投资人赛跑。头几个诉讼律所律师的,比较大机会可以拿回赔偿。那些没有立马行动,或者稍迟提起讼诉的,也许就追回不了投资款项。

我们的中文客户

Clarendon Law Solicitors 律所在此专业领域帮助很多的中国客户,我们有会说中文/粤语的英国职业律师,我们也在招募中文法务助理。

我们的经验是,这个“可疑投资项目”涉及到很多的中国投资人。我们的团队致力于帮助中国客户提供专业有效的法律服务。

作者

Richard Parsons, 律所首席执业律师,民事诉讼部门主管。邮箱:rp@clsolicitors.co.uk. 微信:rparsons.

Categories
Case Study

Reclaiming investments after “dubious investment schemes”

Last month, the Solicitors Regulation Authority published a review into solicitors’ involvement in “dubious investment schemes”. The results are very concerning:

  • The Regulator has “intervened” into seven firms, meaning that the firm was immediately closed down
  • It has referred twenty cases to the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal for prosecution of individual solicitors

What have solicitors been doing wrong here?

The basic concern is that lawyers have allowed their clients to proceed with investments into property which were not really investments at all, but effectively investment scams.

Usually, the scheme will consist of an investment in property which has not yet been built. For example, the buyer is asked to purchase a room in a hotel, or a residential flat or home. A large deposit is requested (often as much as 50%, rather than the usual 10%).

The investor is promised security, for example that there will be an insurance policy to guarantee a minimum rental income to them. Alternatively, there is a guarantor who will “buy back” the property if the investor wishes, at anytime in the future. It is sold to them on the basis that nothing can go wrong, that this is a rock solid investment.

A conveyancing firm is instructed to deal with the paperwork. They treat it as a simple house purchase, rather than doing the due diligence which is really required. They don’t check that the insurance policy is genuine or if the guarantor can really pay what they are promising. They use a simple house purchase contract, instead of a property development contract. There are no staged payments, but the whole deposit is immediately handed over. No regular inspections by surveyors are organised and there are no independent valuations etc. Instead, they just “rubber-stamp” the paperwork, take their fee and move onto the next case.

Often the same small firm is asked to deal with large numbers of cases, say fifty at a time. This creates a strong incentive to the solicitors to proceed with the cases. If they raise objections or concerns with the scheme, then they will miss out on the legal fees.

It is not long before the investor realises that their money may have been lost. Perhaps the development is never completed – the buyer has taken the deposit but the company has gone bust. Or else the hotel has been built and is now operating, but there are no fees being paid back to the investor – the hotel says that profits are low, but that doesn’t stop them from demanding rent and service charges from the new hotel room “owners”.

In the worst cases, the solicitor then continues to try to fix the problem – not realising that it is themselves that is the root of the problem. Perhaps, for example, they continue to renegotiate with the developer in the false hope that the development will suddenly complete and the investment money will magically come rushing back.

So what can investors do?

My firm has represented several clients with claims to secure the refund of their investments, along with other costs such as legal fees.

Each claim is dealt with on a bespoke basis and we consider all possible routes of reclaiming the investment. Most often the primary targets are the developer themselves, and the solicitors who dealt with the investment for the investor.

Why investors should act urgently

Many of these cases are likely to become professional negligence claims against the solicitors who acted for the investors. The good news is that solicitors carry professional indemnity insurance: at least £2,000,000 for individual solicitors, and rising to £3,000,000 for solicitors practising in limited companies.

The bad news is that the insurer is entitled to “aggregate” together similar claims. That means that where a large number of investors bring claims against the same solicitors firm, the insurer will pay the first £2,000,000 (or £3,000,000) of claims, but will have no obligation to make payments beyond that.

Practically, this creates a race amongst investor claimants. The first ones to bring their claims are the most likely to be paid. Those investors who do not quickly take legal action may ultimately lose the chance to claim back their money.

Our Chinese clients

Clarendon Law Solicitors is proud to represent many Chinese clients across all its areas of practice. We have staff who are fluent in Mandarin/Cantonese and actively recruit Chinese-speaking employees.

In our experience, these dubious investment schemes have affected many Chinese investors. Our team is specialised in assisting the Chinese client and providing a smooth and helpful legal service tailored to them.

Author

Mr Richard Parsons, Solicitor, is the Principal of Clarendon Law Solicitors and heads its civil litigation department. He can be contacted by email at rp@clsolicitors.co.uk. His Wechat ID is rparsons.

Categories
Case Study

Chinese Student Tenancy Disputes

In recent weeks we have received high numbers of tenancy disputes enquiries, particularly from Chinese students studying in the UK.

Many of these disputes have arisen as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, which has altered the plans for many universities and students, causing many unforeseen problems.

The cases we are dealing with range from individuals to large groups. Our largest group currently has about 70 students and a claim for approximately £1000,000.

Some of our clients are still in the UK, but many have returned to the PRC.

We are very pleased with the outcomes which we have been able to achieve for our clients. In many circumstances, we are able to quickly deal with these matters with very good results.

We have assigned Miss Charis Wong, solicitor, to lead this firm’s efforts in assisting our clients in this area. She speaks both Mandarin and Cantonese and is now very experienced in handling these claims efficiently and professionally.

Charis Wong is a qualified solicitor specialising in civil and family dispute resolution. As well as English, she speaks fluent Mandarin and Cantonese. You can contact her by email at cw@clsolicitors.co.uk, telephone at +44 115 7323375 or Wechat at chariswongay.